Border agents let fake IDs go through (AP)

So the Mets lost again today, getting swept by the Reds and starting off the season 0-3.  Brian IM's me, because he has Danny Graves on his fantasy team, and asks me if I know how the hell its possible that, in a 6-1 game, where Graves throws two pitches to a single batter, he can pick up a save.   Enter Wikipedia.

According to Wikipedia:

In baseball statistics the term save is used to
indicate the successful maintenance of a lead by a relief pitcher,
usually the closer, until the end of the game. A save is
credited to a pitcher who fulfills the following three conditions:

  1. The pitcher is the last pitcher in a game won by his team;
  2. The pitcher is not the winning
    (for instance, if a starting pitcher throws a complete game win);
  3. The pitcher fulfills at least one of the following three conditions:
    1. He comes into the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and pitches the remainder of the game, gaining at least one
    2. He comes into the game with the potential tying run being either on base, at bat, or on deck. In other words, the potential
      tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batters he faces.
    3. He pitches at least three "effective" innings (this is the only subjective criterion and is judged by the official

No more than one save may be credited in each game, even if more than one of the previous conditions is fulfilled.

So basically, Graves enters with the bases loaded in a 6-1 game, making the tying run on deck.  (Even if he gives up a salami to the first batter, its still only 6-5.  Only the next guy could tie the game.)  There are two outs, but that doesn't matter.  According to criteria #2, he gets a save.  So, Danny Graves, by getting at least one out without giving up back to back home runs, gets a save.  If that isn't the cheapest fuckin' save I've ever heard of, I don't know what is.  Jeez... I could have done that.  Two pitches with a five run lead...  don't strain yourself Danny Boy.